Discover the charm of Aix-en-Provence
City with the richest heritage of France, Aix-en-Provence is also one of the busiest in the south of France. It has nearly 140 monuments. Between the oppidum of Entremont Celto-Ligurian, the new district Sextius-Mirabeau, Aix-en-Provence expresses whole centuries of history that visitors will just have to find out.
The location of Aix-en-Provence is ideal for those wishing to discover Provence. Walk along the streets and appreciate the charm of the city . Aix-en-Provence has a key cultural heritage.
Stroll peacefully along the Cours Mirabeau. Enjoy cafes and markets, browse the pedestrian streets between the Mazarin district and the old town. The sun shines almost all year and intensely illuminates the blonde stone monuments.
The Cours Mirabeau
Former coaches courses created in 1649, it is the link between the Mazarin district to the south and the old market town in the north. The street is lined with plane trees, fountains and cafes.
Three fountains adorn the Course:
- the "fountain of new guns" built in 1691.
- the "fountain of hot water" called "mossy" (1734), fed by the hot springs.
- the "fountain of King Rene" (1819) is the work of David d'Angers. The statue shows the king with a bunch of grapes by hand.
It was built in 1860. This large fountain is topped by three statues representing Justice (facing Aix en Provence), Agriculture (to Marseille), and the Fine Arts (to Avignon).
The transition Agard
Former Carmelite convent, it connects the Cours Mirabeau at the Palais de Justice. Also of note, the café "Les Deux Garçons", frequented in the past by Cézanne and his friends and the chapel of the Oblates, former chapel of the Carmelite convent.
The old town
This is the oldest part of the city center.
The Palace of Justice
It is built on the former Palace of the Sovereign Counts. In the sixteenth century, the Palace houses the Parliament, the Court of Auditors, the Office of Finance and the Government. After being demolished in the late eighteenth century, a new palace was rebuilt on plans Ledoux. It was completed in 1832 by Penchaud. (On the square, a flea market and the flea market is held three times a week).
The church of La Madeleine
Old church of the Dominicans built in the thirteenth century and transformed in the seventeenth century. Century facade. Closed for restoration in 2011.
The square is dominated by the Town Hall (1655-1670) in which we see the facade with Italian, the carved wooden doors and courtyard, the Clock Tower, old belfry of the city, with its Astronomical Clock (1661) on which statues representing the four seasons appear in turn.
The old granary (1759-1761)
It rises south of the square surmounted by an allegorical pediment due to Chastel, representing the Rhone and the Durance. Fountain Chastel also wears a Roman column. Bypassing the Halle aux Grains, you will notice the Richelme square where a futures market every morning.